RSS

Holidailies 31: My goals for 2013!

31 Dec

So, after I looked at what I’ve done in 2012 I’ll now look forward to 2013. Here are my goals.

My goals come in four types: health, university, writing and other.

Health:

My health goals for 2013 look a lot like 2012 and are in line with my lifestyle of the past couple of months.- Keep to a livingschedule and sleep well. This means no 4 o clock nights and waking up early.
– Eat healthy. Meaning, make bulk foods and other things that are easy to freeze and easy to eat. I do need to make a bit more variation in this though, but that might not be too hard, I’ve got a few ideas.
– no smoking (after I finish this pack, which might take me about 3 weeks).
– no caffeine, apart from 2 cups of tea a day.

University:

University gets it’s own goals this year, especially since I need to switch universities as the schoolyear ends.
– Get into university of choice for my master.
– Finish Dissertation on time.
– Find good placement for masters degree.
– Don’t leave work to the last minute.

Writing:

This one is interesting since I’ll be combining some goals from different years again for this year. With my new writing technique I should be able to finish these goals without too much trouble (hopefully).
– write 100.000 words in the whole year, this is an old goal but I’m bringing it back. It’s not a set goal just something I would like to try again to see if I can do it with my new writing style.
– edit Disturbed Fate and Disturbed Connections and publish them.- write 2 more books to publish this year (not a set goal, just something I hope will work).
– publish at least 4 and hopefully 6 books in 2013, all novels or novellas. 4 of these are already finished and only need rewriting and edits (and in some cases covers).
– try my hand at a couple more short stories.
– try another new genre to write. (in 2012 I tried my hand at traditional romance)

Other:

List of random stuff I would like to try and master this year.
– Learn Japanese, I don’t have a set goal for this yet since I don’t know how quick I’ll pick it up.
– Learn to write left handed, weird goal but it’s something that interests me to try to get a hang off.
– Read 50 books and list them on Goodreads, and hopefully write reviews for at least half of them. I’m participating in a group where we try reading challenges and read 6 books together this year, I’m looking forward to trying this.

All these goals can potentially die on me and stuff like that but I’m trying not to be too hard on myself and actually choose goals that I can do.

Don’t forget that these books are only cheap or free for one more day: Holidailies 26: Moooooore presents

And that was it, the end of the Holidailies, very interesting to do, I did really like it.

Read on!

Kia

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2012 in Holidailies, reading

 

6 responses to “Holidailies 31: My goals for 2013!

  1. Jennifer Baylor

    December 31, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    We have some similar goals. Good luck on quitting the smokes – I took up jogging to help encourage me to quit. It worked pretty well (nothing worse than smoking 10 cigs then trying to jog the next day). I’ve also made a food goal: no processed foods. I’ve been gathering recipes to freeze a ton of meals. I also have ongoing language goals – I study Romance languages (not very well, though).

    Interesting: try a new writing genre. Probably a good idea for all writers.

    It is hard to set exciting, challenging goals and make them realistic, too. Or, maybe that is just me?😉

     
    • Kia Zi Shiru

      December 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      I actually already quit smoking, I just got a pack for over the holidays🙂 So after this pack I’ll probably not smoke for a long while. I “quit” (stopped buying) back in August, these are my first ones ever since.
      I also make a lot of my own food. I only need to prepare for 1 so I always make big bowls of food and freeze everything for quick dinners during the rest of the week.

      Setting goals is not that hard when you are just continuing what you’ve been doing. I normally don’t set goals when the new year starts, I set goals when I think of something. Which is where the goal of writing a new genre comes from (I did that last NaNoWriMo) and learning Japanese (already started that early December) and most of the other goals are just continuations of what I do now.
      Thank you for your post and happy new year!

       
  2. non

    January 11, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Good luck with your writing. I’m currently failing at finishing my book so I’m hoping for some strength to write more. And good luck as well on your Japanese goal. I think maybe it’s a tough language…

     
    • Kia Zi Shiru

      January 12, 2013 at 1:10 pm

      Writing can be very rough, but sometimes you just need to remember that the end is also important.
      I think Japanese seems really hard to learn but at the moment I’m finding it to be quite decent to learn.

       
      • non

        January 12, 2013 at 1:23 pm

        I hear many people say it’s a difficult language to study, but I believe the more you use it the better you will become. That’s why I blog entirely in Japanese.

         
        • Kia Zi Shiru

          January 12, 2013 at 1:32 pm

          I’m starting a blog about my journey of learning Japanese soon, mostly to see how I’m doing but also to have contact with other learners.

           

Leave a Reply

 
