RSS

Holidailies 13: Productive day

14 Dec

on-time post today since I will be off to see The Hobbit after dinner. I was being very productive.

I spend about 2 hours learning some more Japanese (I’m almost through all the hiragana now) and then spend the rest of the day working on Black Sheep 2.

Here are a few pics of the before and after of the first page of it: (If you don’t want the ending of Black Sheep: Letting go of the Past to be spoiled too much, don’t read the page too closely😉 )

DSCN0399 DSCN0401

The red circles you see are the places where I either changed punctuation or capitals (since they are harder to just detect when I’m getting the edits into the computer). And quite often I find myself having to add some words here and there (or whole paragraphs), which is why I print everything off double spaced, leaves nice space for all my notes and stuff.

I edited half of the novella like this today, so I should be done with it after another day or so. Which is good, so I can send it off to the editor well on time🙂

See you another day!

Kia

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Holidailies, writing, Writing

 

4 responses to “Holidailies 13: Productive day

  1. Tom Elias

    December 14, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    This post caught my eye in WP topic skimming because you do exactly the same thing I do when copyediting – hard-copy print out, with a red pen. I did notice you also use a blue pen, and that I prefer my MS to be in courier new… for that typewriter-y feel.

    Awesome!

     
    • Crankyashley

      December 14, 2012 at 4:24 pm

      I always print out my MS. Usually once or twice while writing and once at the end for final edits. Since I don’t write in order the ones in the middle help me edit and plot out where to go next and to see what’s missing. I also export it to my ereader for the same reason. I’m reading more as a reader would as opposed to the way me-the-writer does.

      I have no pen preference.

      I do love how printing it out makes me feel that it’s more real.

       
      • Kia Zi Shiru

        December 14, 2012 at 10:53 pm

        I have used my kindle for editing for a bit a while ago, but I didn’t find it to work well with this story, might work better with one of the others. I think printing out makes it different, just like it’s different between handwriting and screen.

         
    • Kia Zi Shiru

      December 14, 2012 at 10:42 pm

      I do most of my edits in blue pen, I only use red when I might miss something (like punctuation changes or capitals) all other are written in black or blue. I don’t like doing everything in red pen unless I’m doing another round of edits on the same copy. It reminds me too much of a teacher correcting everything.
      Thank you for your comments, it’s always interesting to hear how others work.

       

Leave a Reply

 
