RSS

Holidailies 1: Start of December

01 Dec

This month I will be participating in Holidailies, which means that for the whole of December I will try to post at least 1 post a day.

This year December holds a lot of awesome and scary things for me. For those that know me, you’ll probably know what I’m talking about, for those that are new here, I’m a student and a writer and this month is the release of my first novella.

During December these will be the things I’ll be doing:- Finish my university work, which exists at this moment of writing one 1250 words essay and cleaning up things before handing them in
– Finish up the last bits before release of Black Sheep: Letting go of the Past (aka ebook formatting, print formatting and print cover creation)
– Clean home
– Write articles for Blog tour
– Pack and go home by plane
– Have Black Sheep release
– Working on other books and releases and editing
– Working on some prep work for uni

It always seems more if I write it down then when I think of it, always a bit scary.
Right now I’m working on my essay for uni, but I thought it was a good idea to take a break from it before I forget to do the Holidaisy on the first day…

Oh, and I’m going by plane because even though I live in the UK, I’m actually Dutch, so I’ll be spending my Christmas holiday there with my boyfriend and family. Studying in the UK is really fun though, it is quite different from back home, especially the amount of classes I actually have, not that many… But the teachers are fun and interesting and my classmates are sometimes weird.

I’m in my last year here, which is both sad and happy. Sad because it is actually quite fun but happy because it is quite hard to live in a country that is not the country you’re used to. Even though both countries are so close together the culture is totally different and I’m still surprised by that even though I’ve been living here for 2,5 years now. Both countries are so different when it comes to schooling or social conventions, I’m sure some of my classmates sometimes get tired of me speaking up in class and things like that.

Anyway, time to finish that essay now. Tomorrow I’ll talk about something else and in a bit more detail I hope.

Read on!

Kia

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2012 in Holidailies

 

6 responses to “Holidailies 1: Start of December

  1. Crankyashley

    December 1, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Keep speaking up, it’s how you learn things.

    I’ve had several teachers ask me to stop asking questions. They don’t get good reviews at the end of the semester.

     
    • Kia Zi Shiru

      December 1, 2012 at 10:37 pm

      My teachers don’t mind at all, they even encourage it. It’s my classmates who sometimes think it’s annoying. Largely it’s because this is not my first experience with university and I learned in one of the other courses that if you don’t speak up you don’t get extra info which you might need😛
      So now I speak up if needed, plus it’s fun. I like interacting with my teachers on that level, that is what I pay tuition for😛

       
      • Crankyashley

        December 1, 2012 at 10:39 pm

        “that is what I pay tuition for”

        Exactly!

        Plus I’ve always believed that saying that if one person has the question chances are several other people do as well.

         
        • Kia Zi Shiru

          December 1, 2012 at 10:41 pm

          I agree on that. If I don’t ask, who else might wonder but be too scared to ask. On the downside, people now expect me to know everything about the courses and stuff, because they’ve gotten used to me knowing stuff like essay guidelines and hand-in dates😛

           
          • Crankyashley

            December 2, 2012 at 2:02 am

            I had this one girl (woman really – she looked incredibly young but is about 8 years older than me) who practically worshipped me. It was kind of weird. Turns out she was really nice, but still. She thought I knew EVERYTHING from class. She ended up doing better than me lol I take great notes, but don’t test so well.

             

Leave a Reply

 
