RSS

NaNo 2012, Post 1, 35 days to go!

27 Sep

So, it’s been almost a year to the day, last year my first NaNo post was with 34 days to go, well, today it is 35 days till NaNo starts.

YAY!

35 days till NaNoWriMo 2012!

You already scared yet? I’m really looking forward to it. So I’m reading my blog post from last year as I’m writing this one.

Well, apparently my preparations for last year worked really well. I not only finished NaNo but also passed all my classes. Yeah, that was hard work but it paid off. Disturbed Fate is still between typing out and editing, but that is fine, it is a full rounded story already. I finished NaNo on the last day last year, but I finished anyway. Which was awesome and amazing!

Finishing NaNo last year pushed me more into actually taking my writing more serious. Between last year and now I fully finished Black Sheep. Part 1-3 are all finished, which has taken me a total of 5 years. Part 3 was the fastest of all with just a 3 month writing spree to complete it. I also just yesterday finished my edits on Black Sheep Part 1 and after digitalising it it’ll be ready to be send off to an editor. SCARY! That is after I find an editor😉

I also released a collection of short stories, some of which I wrote last year and some which I had already written before that. Magical Roads is available on both Kindle, Nook, Kobo and other devices. Check out my page for it: Magical Roads

Okay, enough flashback, time for some flash forward.

So, it’s almost October, which means the last month before NaNo starts. At least my workload is less this year. I’ve only got 2 classes. I’ll also have to do research for my dissertation but I’ve already started that and the deadline isn’t till the end of the school year.

So, what to do this and next month, from most till least important:

– Write a 15 page screenplay and a commentary on it, I’ve got an idea, I only need to work it out

– Write outline for my NaNo novel, which I’ve already started (sort of). But I need to make sure I got enough to happen before November.

– Write a piece about a writer that inspired our work. I’m taking a novel writing class this semester which is why I’m actually doing NaNo this year. I had told people I wouldn’t😉

– Put my edits into Black Sheep and find an editor, I’m not even sure how to do this but I think it’ll be okay.

So, yeah. Let’s start with tips then. Two for today.

First one, use social media to help you out and keep on track!

I use Google+ a lot to do hangouts and be accountable for what I do. This really helped last year. We would open a hangout and then do writing sprints of 10 minutes. I got about 600 or so words done per hour, and this was by hand. We’d do sprints of 10 minutes “on” and 10 minutes “off” leaving enough time to do other things inbetween. This gives a total of 3 sprints per hour and I averaged about 200-250 words per sprint.

These same sprints are often held on both twitter and the NaNo forums. Competing with other people to have the highest wordcount can really help some people out.

But at the same time, I used it to not be too distracted. My G+ and my twitter were full of people doing NaNo so I would feel guilty while not writing. Plus seeing people around you reach wordcounts really helps keeping your spirit up.

Second one, check back to this page regularly: NaNoWriMo 2012 Preparations

I’ll be linking more and more articles over time that talk about NaNo, or writing, or programs or anything else that might help you. I’ve already put some links to some programs (all of them I already talked about last year in my blogposts, so check them out), plus some articles I’d bookmarked or written this year. I’ll be adding more links as I find them.

For now, GOOD LUCK PLANNING AND STRESSING!!!!

Write on!

Kia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2012 in NaNoWriMo, Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
