RSS

Why 50 is the number of 2011 and what my plans are for 2012!

03 Jan

50, yes, at the tender age of 23 my year number is 50. To prove to everybody, I am indeed 23😉

That was my silly face after completing one of the 50s of this year🙂

Over all 2011 was a really good year. I finished my first year at university, I am now in the second year and it seems to be going all right. But that doesn’t have anything to do with my 50s of this year.

The first 50 I reached just before the halfway mark of 2011, around the 15th of June. This was reaching lvl 50 on Rift. Which in itself was an accomplishment as the last time I reached end content of a game was Jazz the Jackrabbit 2, that was more than 10 years ago. I love Rift and really think it is one of the best games of the last few years. I often can’t seem to find the interest for a game long enough to actually finish it. Rift being an MMORPG I of course did not finish the game, just reached the lvl cap, but for me it did feel really good. I have played MMORPG’s in the past, but even the halfway mark is often too long for me. This game has kept me interested for the whole year, as my last 50 shows.

The last 50 was reaching lvl 50 on a second character, I accomplished this just a few hours before the end of the year. This has taken me quite a bit longer as I did not immediately start to play on a new character but I’ve done quite a bit of exploring with my lvl 50, that and of course other things that got in the way in the second part of the year.

Like NaNo, which is my second 50, although more correctly, 50.011. As that is the amount of words I wrote for my National Novel Writing Month this year. This was the second time I tried and after a false start in 2010 I made it this year. I wrote quite a few posts about NaNo over at my writing blog. In the end I’m left with a handwritten manuscript and the knowledge that trying to finish 3 essays and learning for an exam is not possible just 7 days after NaNo. Something else I also learned about myself is that if necessary I can live on about 10 hours of sleep in 4 days… Don’t ask me how, but I did it. It was really fun to do with all the other people around the net. Google+ was a great help as I did quite a few word wars over there.

The third 50 was a Goodreads competition, I read 50 books in one year, though I read more but not all of them are listed. I only started back in late February as that was the moment I got my Kindle, which helped me greatly in reading a lot. I’ve found a couple of great new writers and also some more niche genres, which increased my own confidence to keep writing the things I can think up. Having my kindle as my main source of reading material I also picked up quite a few indies, which sometimes went really well and sometimes really bad. I like that a lot of people who visit my reading blog still come there for 2 or 3 of my reviews of indie/small press writers and the names are quite consistent which is interesting enough on it’s own.

So yes, those are my 50s of 2011. In the order of happening: reaching lvl 50 on Rift with my mage, doing NaNo which is 50K words, reading 50 books and finished the year with reaching lvl 50 with a warrior on Rift. So yes, 2011 was all about 50.

Which leads me to the next thing, what are my plans for 2012? Well, I have 2 things, I have resolutions for 2012 and goals.

My resolutions for 2012 are really basic. Keep doing everything that went well in 2011 (eating well, going to the gym at least 2 times a week, etc) and don’t do everything that went wrong (only sleeping for 10 hours in 4 days because of essays and exams, etc). Which in itself sounds pretty reasonable for me. Doing this will ultimately make me reach the same resolutions as other people have, like living healthy and losing a couple of pounds, but I already had a routine like this in place, so it’s a resolution that in itself is just “keep going like you did last year (mainly)”.

On the other hand, I also have a few goals for 2012. These are a lot more concrete and a bit more time intensive.

– Write Black Sheep Part 3.

– Edit Black Sheep Part 1 & 2.

– Design covers for Black Sheep Part 1, 2 and 3 & Disturbed Fate.

– Digitalise Disturbed Fate.

– Edit Disturbed Fate.

– Publish Disturbed Fate around end November/begin December.
I might not make them all but that is fine, as long as I make most of my goals.

I also have set up the 50 books a year competition on Goodreads again and I think I will make it again. Though I won’t be doing NaNo or Rift this year. During the time that NaNo runs I’ll be doing my dissertation and I cancelled my Rift subscription so I can focus on my writing goals more this year.

So that is my 2011 and 2012, I hope yours was/will be as fun as mine!

Kia

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 3, 2012 in Black Sheep, ebooks, games, NaNoWriMo, reading, Rift, writing

 

One response to “Why 50 is the number of 2011 and what my plans are for 2012!

Leave a Reply

 
