RSS

Knitting, first project and first design.

05 Aug
So, a couple of months ago I taught myself how to crochet, as that was something I had never done before. I have now tried my hand on knitting. My mum had taught me how to do it when I was young but I never could get into it and I never could quite get my head around casting-on.
A while back I found a tutorial for continental knitting and it seemed easier to me then the standard knitting I was used to. With that in the back of my mind I decided that when I could crochet pretty well I would try my hand on knitting. Well the time came and I found this amazing website with great tutorials on how to knit from start to finish. The website is called KnittingHelp.com and it has tutorials for both continental and standard/English knitting.
So after watching the videos and making a small sample to get some ease at knitting and purling I decided it was time for a project. I chose this wrist warmer though I had the wrong yarn and needle size for it and if I changed these into fingerless gloves the cable would be at the side of my hand since the stitches on both sides of the cable are the same amount (I did this myself since I never found the new pattern the person who commented on it had made).
So I found a converter for gauge and size here. And changed the pattern so that the cable would be positioned down the middle of the hand.You can also find this pattern on Ravelry: here.

Easy cable fingerless gloves

Gauge:
14.5 stitches + 18 rows = 4 inch (10 cm) on a size 6 needle. See notes at the bottom for different size yarn and needles.

Stitch explanation:
C6F = Cable 6 Front. Slip next 3 sts onto cable needle and hold at front of work, knit next 3 sts from left-hand needle, then knit sts from cable needle.
k = knit
p = purl

Pattern:
Cast on 28
Row 1 = k1, p1 (1x) {k2, p6, k2} k1, p1 (8x)
Row 2 = k1, p1 (8x) {p2, k6, p2} k1, p1 (1x)
Row 3 = k1, p1 (1x) {k2, p6, k2} k1, p1 (8x)
Row 4 = k1, p1 (8x) {p2, C6F, p2} k1, p1 (1x)
Row 5 = k1, p1 (1x) {k2, p6, k2} k1, p1 (8x)
Row 6 = k1, p1 (8x) {p2, k6, p2} k1, p1 (1x)
Repeat row 1-6 as many times as needed for the length you want. Mine is repeated 6 times.
Row 1, 3 and 5 are the same but for ease of keeping track of where you are I write out each row. Odd rows are wrong side of the work, even rows are right side of the work.
After you reach the right length you bind off in pattern and sew the side, leaving a hole for your thumb.
For the other hand you follow the same pattern but turn it upside down when sewing and you have the other hand.

Notes on gauge/yarn/needle size:
If you don’t have the same gauge/yarn/needle size you can use the converter to see what the right ammount of stitches would be for you.
When you convert the amount of stitches, you choose the closest multiple of 4 to cast on.
The pattern is basically made of a side A and a side B that have an equal amount of stitches. Side A is the side with the cable, side B is purely the ribbed side.
The part of the pattern between {} will always stay the same, you don’t need to change anything on that. This is already 10 stitches on the side A.
28 stitches cast on is 14 sitiches on side A and 14 on side B.
How to convert:
Side A = k1, p1 (*x) {10 for cable} k1, p1 (*x) (in this pattern side A has 1x on each side of the cable) [14-10=4 => 4/2=2 => 1 on each side]
Side B = k1, p1 (*x) (this pattern side B has 7x) [14/2=7]
(the pattern says 8 which is the right side k1, p1 of side A combined with the full k1, p1 of side B)

For example 32 stitches cast on means side A has 16 stitches and side B has 16 stitches.
Side A = [16-10=6 => 6/2=3 => 2 on the left side of the cable and 1 on the right side of the cable]
So the pattern for side A would be: k1, p1 (2x) {k2, p6, k2} k1, p1 (1x)
Side B = [16/2=8]
So the pattern for side B would be: k1, p1 (8x)
Row 1 of the pattern would be: k1, p1 (2x) {k2, p6, k2} k1, p1 (9x)
PS. Always prefer to put the extra k1, p1 of side A on the left side of the cable, otherwise the cable will be too far to the side of your hand.

I hope this all makes sense. Please leave a comment if you have questions or link to the image if you make one of these.

Here are some pictures I made during the knitting of this pattern. You can also see how I write out patterns on a block to keep track of rows.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 5, 2011 in knitting, patterns, tutorial

 

Leave a Reply

 
