RSS

No games this time but my other hobbies

22 Mar

Since my internet is still not like I would like to be I decided to spend some time on my other hobby and in that process I found myself a new hobby.

So what have I been doing?
– I have made two beaded bracelets
– I have taught myself how to crochet
– I crocheted an amigurumi
– I started crocheting a Granny Square blanket (not sure if it is going to be a blanket though)

So, my two bracelets:

I got the Hello Kitty pattern from a website called Noodle Bead and as soon as I saw it I knew I wanted it. The bows in between the Hello Kitty are my own little frill.
The bottom Bracelet is a creation of my own, I loosely based it on the Burberry pattern but did a bit my own thing with it.
I haven’t properly finished the bracelets because I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them yet and since my wrists are quite small I can’t really finish them off until I know who will get them.

Crocheting

Last week I taught myself how to crochet. This is one of the last “typically female” crafting skills I hadn’t learned yet, the other being knitting (which I did learn but forgot how to) and I think scrapbooking and the likes. I do want to learn how to knit but I’m first going to master crocheting.

When looking for fun anime (Japanese cartoons) patterns for beading I found a lot of really amazing and cute patterns for crocheted dolls. These dolls are usually referred to as amigurumi and I found that there is a vast community who makes and designs these dolls. I had been beading for years and found it was time to learn something new.
So after I chose a couple of patterns to make I went to the store and bought some yarn and a couple of crocheting needles.

My crocheting box, you can see a granny square in the making and my red dragon is hiding underneath the red yarn.

I came home and tried to get my head around how to crochet. Since I knew how to do it by hand and how to just make a long string with it I didn’t have a rough start. After I realized that my problem was not really my tight crocheting but more the fact the needle was too big I had a breeze making small pieces of squared and round crocheting. That day I started my first amigurumi, the pattern is called Pop Heart and comes from MyGurumi.

Just look at those lovely eyes ^ ^

I finished this pattern around 3 in the morning and my hands ached, but I was so proud of myself.
I started on a new pattern, a baby dragon but haven’t finished it yet. I soon realized my hands were sore from the tight crocheting so I started looking for something a bit more relaxing, both on my brain and on my hands. I found a pattern for Granny squares on a Dutch weblog called De Quiltkat and started immediately.
I found this to be a lot less demanding on my hands as there was no way I could pull too tight when doing the stitches and I think I’ve got the hang of it by now. What do you think?

I am getting somewhere with this, I love the colours🙂

So yeah, apart from gaming and writing this is what I do in my free time.

I hope to see you around!

Kia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 22, 2011 in amigurumi, beading, crocheting

 

Leave a Reply

 
