RSS

What am I reading? 11 Feb 2011

11 Feb

So, what am I reading? What might be one of the next book I’ll review and what do I think of the works as I’m reading them?

I’ll be talking about:

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
Selected Short Stories by Ann Somerville
Caged by Sean Michael
Bit Literacy: Productivity in the Age of Information and E-mail Overload by Mark Hurst
Stuck in the Middle by Virginia Smith

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
Although I find the story on it’s own a great piece, I’m struggling to get through it. I’ve fallen asleep on it a couple of times and that is not something I do very often I have to admit. I’m trying my best to read this but I find it quite hard. The book can be found on Amazon.

Selected Short Stories by Ann Somerville
A free ebook I found at Smashwords I’m halfway through the first of the stories and although the speed is not very high I do enjoy the writing style. It is totally different from Sean Michaels fast flowing story I already did a review on but enjoyable non the less. The first short story is about a young man who travels to see his boyfriend and Dom out in the countryside. It’s a sweet story, sexy and at the same time it gives a sense of ordinariness.

Caged by Sean Michael
This story is not as fast paced as his other book. The story of a rich man falling in love at first sight with a man specially bred to be a sex slave. The slave is treated badly by his former master and the rich man teaches him that there really is something better out there.
But ofcourse it is not as simple as I just put it. Not as bland either. I have gotten used to his fast paced writing from his short stories and his other book so I was quite surprised at how slow the pace was for this story. Which doesn’t mean it takes anything away from Seans skills to tell a great story. I’m only a third through the book and anxious to read more of this lovely thing.
This amazing book can once again be found at Torquere Books.

Bit Literacy: Productivity in the Age of Information and E-mail Overload by Mark Hurst
I’ve gotten through the first couple of chapters of this book and I’ve found it to be very interesting. Mark gives some great ideas that I as a techie myself do seem to agree with. I’ve been sharing some of the things I agree with on Amazon Kindle Reading List and it already has me thinking about the way we perceive the world of tech in this day and age. I’m a tenth trough the book but I seem to always start reading pieces of it at times where I should be doing other things. Ironic, digitally reading a book about how to better spend your digital time when procrastinating doing some digital work. Fun book that can be found on Amazon (UK) or Amazon (US).

Stuck in the Middle by Virginia Smith
A book about a woman who feels stuck in the middle between her older sister who is starting a family of her own and her younger sister who has a career. She herself feels like she hasn’t done anything interesting with her life up until that point.
This is about as far as I’m into the book right now. I chose to read it although I’m not a big fan of books that deal with a persons relationship to God. I’ve always avoided books that dealt with that but I felt like I had to try something I hadn’t read before. Although the character seems quite superficial at the point where I’m reading I’ve also read a couple of great reviews about it and will give it a try.
I’m quite positive about the book up until now so I’ll see. The book can be found (for free) at Amazon (UK) and Amazon (US).

I’ll be doing a blog on the series of Teen vampire and other supernatural stories soon, just comparing the samples from Amazon. I have originally read a couple of the Twilight series in Dutch and they are a guilty pleasure of mine to read them.
I will compare the samples of the most popular series at the moment and see what they share and what they don’t share. I think it will be fun.

Happy reading!

Kia

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2011 in reading, What am I reading?

 

2 responses to “What am I reading? 11 Feb 2011

  1. KinWorm

    February 14, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Thought I'd drop by and say Hi! Interesting to see what you're reading and have fun blogging 🙂

     
  2. KiaZiShiru

    February 14, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Thanks 🙂 Will do 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
